Nobel Prize annual announcements: Medicine, Physics & Chemistry

Back to overview

As we embrace this time of year, it marks the Annual announcements from the Nobel Foundation revealing the distinguished Nobel Prizes and Laureates. From 1901 to 2022, these prestigious awards, including the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, have been bestowed 615 times upon 989 remarkable individuals and organizations. Administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden, these international accolades are rooted in the legacy of Alfred Nobel, a visionary Swedish inventor and entrepreneur.

For additional details, explore the Nobel Prize official website.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2023

Katalin Karikó and Drew Weissman “for their discoveries concerning nucleoside base modifications that enabled the development of effective mRNA vaccines against COVID-19″.

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2023

Pierre AgostiniFerenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter”.

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2023

Moungi G. BawendiLouis E. Brus and Alexei I. Ekimov “for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots”.

All illustrations credited to: Ill. Niklas Elmehed © Nobel Prize Outreach